Slideshow Image


2017 Scor Recognition

June 23, 2017 by Judy

GEF Recognizes Community Volunteers
For over fifteen years, the Garner Educational Foundation has organized community members to volunteer 30 minutes each week to read with a second grader in one of the local eight elementary schools that GEF supports.  For this school year, the program, SCOR--Schools and Community Organized to Read, consisted of 57 volunteers reading with 66 second graders.  These volunteers were recognized at the annual SCOR Luncheon on Monday, May 8, and thanked for the time and support they provided to the students.  Before the end of the school year, each volunteer will present his or her SCOR buddy with an age-appropriate dictionary provided by GEF.  Many volunteers are from the Town of Garner, the Garner Police Department, the Optimist Club, the Civitan Club, Hollands United Methodist Church, and Aversboro Road Baptist Church. The SCOR program is funded by the Town of Garner, Wells Fargo Bank, the Bell Family Foundation, Scholastic Books, and the Garner Educational Foundation. 

2017 Baccalaureate

June 23, 2017 by Judy

Baccalaureate for GMHS Seniors 
One of the graduation experiences for several years for seniors of Garner Magnet High School has been a Baccalaureate Service sponsored by the Garner Educational Foundation.   This year on Sunday afternoon, May 21, over 350 attendees--seniors, parents, community members, school personnel, and other students--filled the sanctuary of Aversboro Road Baptist Church in Garner.   GMHS Junior Marshals served as ushers for the 80 attending seniors and music was provided by the Die Meister Singers of GMHS.   

As in the past, GMHS student officers, the GMHS principal, and the GEF representative participated in the service.   Class President Keion White offered the invocation and Class Secretary Christine Wilkins read scripture while GMHS Principal Carter Hillman and Garner Educational Foundation Board Member Rev. Jim Ferry offered greetings.   Class Treasurer Ashley Hatcher introduced the speaker, Rev. Chip Pope, Associate Pastor for Youth and their Families at White Memorial Presbyterian Church in Raleigh, who delivered a moving message.   Student Body President Eli Bridges concluded the service with the benediction.  

This voluntary and long-standing service for Garner seniors is a collaborative effort of GMHS, the Garner community, and the Garner Educational Foundation to provide the graduating students and their families a traditional graduation event.

2017 Marjorie B. Barefoot Education Award Ceremony

June 22, 2017 by Kristy Foushee

MBB Celebration--Aaron Moody article

An education awards ceremony on Monday, May 15, 2017 was a cozy affair by Garner Performing Arts Center standards, drawing a crowd of mostly honorees and their families.

But among those present were Wake County school officials and Town of Garner leaders who saw it worth their time to salute standout teachers and students from the 11 Garner-area schools.

The Garner Educational Foundation, the town and the Garner Chamber of Commerce partnered to hold the annual event, now named in memory of former Garner teacher and GEF board member Marjorie B. Barefoot.

“(Barefoot) set a standard for all of us on the board in terms of her dedication, her love for children and her commitment to the Garner-area schools,” said foundation chairwoman Cathy Williams, a past principal at East Garner Middle School. “There really aren’t many current members anymore who knew Marjorie, but I think it’s really fitting that we come together once a year to celebrate education in her name.”

The ceremony honored a Teacher of the Year from each of the 11 schools. They were Beth Wise of Timber Drive Elementary; Heather Wimberly, Garner High; Jennifer Cherry, Vance Elementary; Katherine Sokolowski, East Garner Middle; Kelly Harris, Rand Road Elementary; Laura Cobb, Vandora Springs Elementary; Laura Perez, East Garner Elementary; Lindsey Barton, Smith Elementary; Melissa Oliver, Creech Road Elementary; Sherry Aldridge, North Garner Middle; and Sue Myers, Aversboro Elementary.

Jessica Bird of Aversboro Elementary and Jennifer Steinbach of Timber Drive Elementary were named Diane Kent-Parker First-Year Teachers of the Year.

Teacher Assistants of the Year were Belinda Roberson of East Garner Middle; Carmen Davis, North Garner Middle; Carrie Kuvik, Rand Road Elementary; Jennifer Durbal, Vance Elementary; Kim Grande, Timber Drive Elementary; Louanne Miller, Vandora Springs Elementary; and Olivia Richardson, Smith Elementary.

Sokolowski, Sarah Carter of Smith Elementary and Nicki Hall and Jennifer Rucker of Timber Drive Elementary were recognized for earning National Board Certification.

The groups also bid farewell to 19 retiring teachers: Catherine Napolitano, Ella Dobbin, Kathy Hopkins, Kay Griffin and Tam Bobbitt, all of Aversboro Elementary; Alice Sprinkle, Bernice Dawson, Bertha Gilmore and Donna Bateman, Garner High; Barbara Bailey, North Garner Middle; Anita Greer and Ann Badders, Rand Road Elementary; Garcia Sampson, John Nordquist and Virginia Cardenas, Smith Elementary; Cherry Riddick, Vance Elementary; and Jim Hunt, Kay Morgan and Nancy James, Vandora Springs Elementary.

Garner Town Council members were among those to escort 10 Garner High seniors onto the stage, where presenters shared their backgrounds and college plans. Each earned a $1,000 scholarship.

Susie Knabe received the Mayor of Garner Educational Scholarship, given to a student who intends to pursue a career in education. Knabe is headed to Appalachian State University with plans to become a career and technical education teacher.

“My brother just finished his freshman year at Campbell, so anything helps offset our family expenses,” she said.

Amy Kelly and Caroline Bryan each received National Pawn Scholarships; Christine Wilkins, the Miss Garner Scholarship Pageant Scholarship; Jasmine Atkinson, the R.W. Moore Scholarship; and Laura Austin, the Marjorie Barefoot Opportunity Scholarship.

Libby Bynum received the Red Star Oil Scholarship; Noel Buitrago, the Don and Betty Rohrbaugh Family Scholarship; Sarah Smith, the Garner Town Council Scholarship; and Spencer Phillips, the Caroline Ball Family Foundation Scholarship.

Wake school board chairwoman Monika Johnson-Hostler and area Superintendent Lloyd Gardner made closing remarks.

“There’s a common thread I see that runs among and between these different groups, and that’s the pursuit of excellence,” Gardner said. “This community is a model for how it embraces the schools and serves the young people of this community.”

Gardner also recognized Margaret Bingham for her work with the GEF. The foundation’s annual storytelling festival will be named in her honor.